Chapter Twenty-Two

28 Nov

Photobucket

“Calvin, how’d you even end up on this couch?” I wake up to the sun glimmering through the glossy windows, and things feel surreal until my mind catches up with me. What has to be done today.

“Mmfhh?”


Photobucket

“Now now, get offa me,” I mumble, traces of sleep still hanging in my voice.

“Fine! Your hands and feet are all cold anyway,” he mutters dejectedly. I sigh, they always seem to be cold now. Tension, I guess.

Photobucket

“Are we ready to head over to the graveyard? You can handle it Max?”

I can’t tell exactly what time it is, but the library’s empty so it must be somewhat early.

Photobucket

“Yeah, yeah, I can handle it! God, Andy, I never met the guy. Er, I met him once. He was an ass of a father, he’s not worth seeing. You really just need to calm down!” he gasps, and looks down at his knees.

“Okay. Sorry,” I say, drumming my fingertips on lap, trying to wake up. Trying to stop saying stupid things.

Photobucket

“Let’s just get going. But we don’t even know who’s going to be there. Allison could. Your mom could. I mean, she knew Tina pretty well, maybe she knew Wesley? We know Ms. Monster-Maroney’ll be there. We could use some disguises,” Max says, and instantly the idea comes to my head. Whether it’d been that my eyes coincidentally met the toy box or that they were guided there, it didn’t matter.

We won’t get caught, I vow. I’ll make sure it won’t happen.

Photobucket

“Just as I suspected, dress-up. Check the other bin in the kids area. Find the most funeral appropriate stuff and put it on. Quickly, before anyone gets up here,” I announce, rummaging through toys and ratty old clothes. There are even a couple wigs.

Photobucket

“How do I look?” I giggle, gently twirling my finger in the tangled up wig.

“Good. Real good,” Calvin says breathlessly. Max rolls his eyes and makes a gagging noise.

“Is the makeup really necessary?”

“We need to look as different as possible. Besides, we know so many people acquainted with Wesley, enough to be at the funeral, and if we got recognized I just don’t know what’d happen,” I explain. “Now get digging for some stuff! We’ll leave our old clothes in here, even it out for the rest of the kids.”

Photobucket

When my eyes meet Calvin’s, I can’t help but burst into an uncontrollable laughter. His eyebrows tug together and when his lower lip trembles, I try to contain myself.

“Why do I have to be the girl, Max?!” he growls.

“No, no, it looks…great,” I say. “Anyway Max isn’t hot stuff either. And you’re the one that wouldn’t get caught, no one will know it’s you.”

“You kidding, Andy? I look just like our handsome friend Calvin here in my ginger hair and snooty suit,” he gives his best impression of someone that’s nothing like Calvin and mutters some swears when I don’t respond to it well.

Photobucket

“Oh relax, boys. We’ve got a funeral to crash.”

Photobucket

The light, joking mood doesn’t last. Right when we reach the graveyard, there’s this tingling feeling in my stomach, in my eyes and I might cry. Tragically, ironically, it’s one of Twinbrook’s rare sunny days. The day of a funeral.

But now isn’t emotional time. We need to spy, extract information, figure out this mess of family ties gone awry and gossip gone murderous. I scan the crowd from behind my dead tree, itching the wig around my scalp every couple of seconds.

Photobucket

The pastor is making some scripted speech that has nothing to do with Wesley, at least personally. ‘A father, a husband, a dedicated worker’ and all of that. Hardly a father, a cheating husband, a guy that worked at a laundromat, you mean. He’d seemed so nice when I met him, now that he was dead I truly saw who he was, an obstacle for Tina and just plain hurting everyone else.

Nobody listens except for Carolyn. In fact, she’s listening so intently it’s as if she’s trying to keep her mind off of other things, or her eyes off of other things. Every couple of seconds her eyes shift to a man slinking around in the back.

Photobucket

Ms. Maroney and Mr. Oliveri do their regular thing, ignoring the elephant in the room – the coffin right in front of them. It’s just sort of disrespectful, I guess. That they’d do it in the setting, like they’re only attending the funeral on principle.

Photobucket

I suppose it makes sense that Allison’s here, too. She was Tina’s best friend, however many conflicts they had. Her and Wesley must have known each other when he would rendezvous with Tina at The Red.

There’s my mother, too. She tries too hard to keep her eyes off of her father and unsuccessfully comforts Allison.

Photobucket

She’s so pretty, I can hardly believe she’s my mom. Once again, I get the urge to run into her arms and hug her, desperately trying to make up for lost years. It’s not worth it, giving yourself up, I tell myself.

Photobucket

Finally, the last member of this odd funeral lingers far away from everyone, the one Carolyn keeps sneaking looks at. He hides his face as much as he can, but I know him from the night before.

It’s Ian.

Photobucket

Although none of his kids are missing, although I can’t think of any reason he’d be here, Ian is the only person who looks genuinely upset. His eyes are bagged and red and he takes quick breaths of air.

Photobucket

“Calvin,” I turn to him, “I need you to find out why Ian’s here. He knows me, and you’re the one that looks the most…radically different.”

“I’m on it,” he smiles, shaking the wig around. “And I’ll be careful.”

“That should’ve been implied,” I grin and send him off, holding my breath.

Photobucket

Photobucket

He plays the part perfectly, sobbing a little and manipulating Ian to feel awkward enough to excuse himself from the conversation.

Photobucket

Oh so cleverly, he takes a long way around the pond to meet back with us.

Photobucket

“So Andy, he said he didn’t know him much, actually,” Calvin says curiously, like he’s asking me the question.

“What? But he’s all teary! He looks awful.”

“Yeah, he said sometimes he ‘goes to funerals.’ He feels bad is what he told me.”

“That’s too weird,” I mutter in a faraway voice. People don’t just do that, and not ‘badass’ Ian. Anyone but him.

Photobucket

All of a sudden, Calvin starts squeaking, “Cadence is leaving the site, someone needs to go try and squeeze her for info.”

“Not me, she knows my face,” I say quickly, passing the job over to Max.

“Fine, I’ll do it,” he says smoothly, without a hitch in his voice.

Photobucket

Photobucket

The look on her face makes my head spin. What did Max ask her?!

Photobucket

Photobucket

But he doesn’t take the long way. He doesn’t even come back.

Shoot, no, MAX! The little voice in the back of my throat wants to scream for him but I have to stay silent.

Max, come back! You still look the same. You’re going to get caught. You can’t handle it.

Photobucket

The hushed panic comes immediately when Allison’s eyes lock on to Max’s. I can’t breathe. She knows; does he know she knows?

Photobucket

“Why is he -?” Calvin begins, but I jerk my head toward him.

“Don’t say a word. We may have to make a run for it.”

Photobucket

“What the hell, Max?!”

“No…”

We have no choice, we have to go. Without him. God, Max, why do you have to make things so hard?

Photobucket

“Come on, Calvin. Hide. Now.”

Photobucket

We take one last glance at Max, who catches my eye for one second and shakily nods. My stomach churns. I don’t know what to feel, what to do now. Just to get out of here before we get caught.

Photobucket

Conveniently, there’s one place we’ll be able to get lost in, hide ourselves in. The mausoleum.

My hands are colder than ever, sweaty, clammy, every unattractive detail you can name, I’ve got it. Panic stricken, freaking out, heart pounding, head spinning – I’m too young for this. That thought had never crossed my mind, that I shouldn’t be doing this. Now all I’m doing is questioning myself.

Photobucket

Max is getting punished now. He’s going to be questioned about you and Calvin. There are consequences Andy, this isn’t just one big fun treasure hunt. This is murder. Allison’s not even off the list.

Photobucket

I lock the doors shut and lay on the cold, dirt floor that sticks to my sweaty hands and begin to cry. I want to go home and sleep in a bed. This is too much, too much guilt on my part, too much responsibility. Calvin does his best to console me, gingerly wrapping his arms around me but it doesn’t do anything. He’s shaking, too. We’re both just one big mess.

Photobucket

Just as suspected, when night falls and we deem it safe to come out, everyone is gone. Max is gone. We’re down one, the actual brave member of our team is here no more, probably locked up with one of the last three suspects. Carolyn, Sanchez, Allison. Even Sanchez is slowly fading from my mind, I get the feeling I’d let my petty grudge get a hold of me while we were making the list.

For the first time all summer, no plan comes to my mind. I’ve been run ragged, just a little ten-year-old girl with too much to handle.

27 Responses to “Chapter Twenty-Two”

  1. friendliellama November 28, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    Oh, boy. What did Max ask her? :S

  2. Thea November 28, 2010 at 3:04 am #

    Wow Amelia have you got some talent here. I’ve been following bits and I do love this story! I’ve got you on my reader now so I won’t be missing any more fabulous updates!

    • Amelia November 28, 2010 at 10:51 am #

      Thea! C: so psyched you’re following this!!

  3. kittycattylion November 28, 2010 at 3:15 am #

    ohhhhh, crackers! what did Max say?!!
    poor Andy.. scoot on over here, dolly, and I’ll take you to the zoo sometime soon, ok? ;A;

    I love her so much! T_T

    • Amelia November 28, 2010 at 10:53 am #

      A little inconvenient how he gets caught right after talking with Cadence, eh? xC
      ;3 ooo, she’d love that, there’s definitely some threads of sanity unraveling, her brave shell can’t hold this up much longer..

  4. ay2cee November 28, 2010 at 6:40 am #

    :O Has Max gone bonkers? Or is he a hidden genius..?
    Poor Andy and Calvin *snickers at Calvins disquise*

    Great update though Amelia!

    • Amelia November 28, 2010 at 10:55 am #

      I <3333's my Calvin. xO
      can't be too sure about Max, he's still only ten, and has had some past iffy choices..
      *crosses fingers*

  5. Terra November 28, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    I really hope Max has a plan! But lol at Calvin’s disguise…he makes a rather pretty girl, no? XD

    I hope things turn out okay… because Allison is still the major viable suspect on the list…! :O

    • Amelia November 28, 2010 at 10:50 am #

      It’s all we can hope now…I mean, there are reasons he wouldn’t but you’d think he would fill them in on it.

  6. E November 28, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    Ooooh! I feel really bad for Andy! What DID max say? Her face as just SHOCK.
    Why can’t they go home? I mean i know they’re on a mission but…They can still stay with Allison can’t they? Even if she’s on the murderer list, she hasn’t poisoned them yet!
    Thoe disguises though were EPIC! =D

    • Amelia November 28, 2010 at 10:49 am #

      I think they really should’ve considered that, but now they’re in way too deep to crawl out of this without suspicion. It’s not a risk they can take. xP thanks!

  7. umikagami November 28, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    That ending sure was something, I wonder what happened between Max and Cadence.

  8. Sfe November 29, 2010 at 1:58 am #

    Calvin is so great! I hope that Max won’t get in too much trouble, it was such a bad idea to pass in front of the crowd. It seems like a very unthoughtful move, which makes me wonder if he did that on purpose.

    • Amelia December 1, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

      ..or he was being an overemotional, split-second-decision-making ten year old. ;O for now we wait.

  9. GongaGonga November 30, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    Ohmigod! You know, these cliffhangers are really rubbing on a raw spot >:-). LOVE this story (was getting seriously sick of just legacy’s, SO nice to have an original storyline, and not just “oh my, he looks swell, wanna marry me? Lets have twenty children”). Anyway, just want you to know, your a great writer! I know you get that allot, I read the comments, but it’s true.
    * twiddles thumbs and waits patiently for updates*

    • Amelia December 1, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

      x] there’re always a couple unique legacies, linked to them on my own legacy’s blogroll. (it’s the goth legacy) but I’m glad this is so refreshing for you, every comment seriously makes me work harder to entertain you all. I still don’t see myself as a fantastic writer, but that’s okay, cause with this I’m working on it. ❤

  10. amberwaves November 30, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    IAN is at the funeral! He’s always been such a suspicious character. When is Andy going to add him to their suspect list?! I loved the disguises by the way. 😆

    • Amelia December 1, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

      there’s a first in my comment box! there was definitely something strange up with him, going to funerals just cause isn’t much of a better alternative to a suspect..

  11. mmia December 1, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    Wow! What did he say? And what has happened to him, I wonder! Ooh, you have me hooked C:

    • Amelia December 1, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

      :] no answers to that right now!

  12. tipix7 December 2, 2010 at 7:01 am #

    Oh!! The poor things, I wonder what they’re going to do without Max?

  13. seaweedy December 3, 2010 at 3:52 am #

    Amazing that they went undercover but I fear they are getting in too deep. How scary to sleep in the Mausoleum.

  14. Isabella December 3, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    Ohemgee. What the hell did Max ask her?

  15. Angel December 20, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    Ooh, I just noticed that the title contains the words “AN Andrea Jones Mystery.” Will there be others? ^_^

    • Amelia December 28, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

      a sequel is very much in the works. ;D

  16. Katie December 22, 2010 at 2:46 am #

    When is the next chapter comming out I AM DYING FOR IT x33

    • Amelia December 27, 2010 at 1:04 am #

      .< hopefully this week I'll get something new out now that I'll be up at the cabin!

Leave a comment