Chapter Twenty-Five

29 Jan

Photobucket

I must look absolutely ridiculous, standing here in the library dress-up outfit, fidgeting by the receptionist counter and painfully glancing around.

My stomach lurches and tries too hard to gather itself, churning into a storm of worry inside of me. I don’t know if I’m making the right decision. But it’s the logical one. At least. Right?


Photobucket

I’ve come to find Calvin, to explain myself to his mother and to my mother and to call my dad and to go home and to give up. To make this a lot simpler, to put everyone at ease. Except for Tina, poor Tina, I’ve failed her. I have no evidence to go on, nothing to tell me what to do. Her trial’s in a week or two and there’s no way she’s not getting convicted.

Please, Andy, it’s not your fault. This isn’t your mess to clean up anyway. But it was given to me! I just need something, anything to help me now. I’m at a loss, at a dead end. I’m a ten-year-old. Ten-year-olds can’t do detective work, too. Of course. Right. Yes. No. Yes.

Photobucket

“Excuse me sir, I need to see Calvin Maroney. He should be being examined right now, it’s an emergency.”

“Let me check for his room number, love. I’ll hook you up.”

Once again, the youth factor saves me again. I’m sure if some old guy demanded a room he’d be questioned or something. I try not to grin.

Photobucket

“Room 04, sweetheart, just down the hall. Come back if you have any questions, thankfully it’s a small hospital.”

“Thank you so much, sir. I’ll be fine.”

Photobucket

Sure enough, the door windows reveal Calvin squinting in the light, being interrogated by his mother and…my mother. Fantastic. Everyone’s just in one room, huh, this’ll be fun.

But just as my greasy hand strokes the handle, I hear a little yelp coming from Room 03.

Photobucket

“Damnit Carolyn!”

Hush!

Naturally, I’ve got to check this out. Carolyn, Carolyn Walters – perhaps.

Photobucket

I can just barely hear the buzz of their voices, one a more masculine and recognizable voice. It’s Ian.

Photobucket

“Hell, Carolyn, this is all your fault. I can’t do this anymore. I had to lie to a kid yesterday. I don’t do that. I can’t do that. Not for much longer. How could you. How could you. You, you bitch.

“You wanted the job, Ian, you wanted the money. Don’t take it out on me.”

“I didn’t know what I was actually doing! You told me I was packaging vitamin pills!”

Photobucket

“You were packaging vitamin pills. Dissolving, very strong vitamin sleeping pills. That put you to sleep for a long time.

“A long time? Whaddyou think I am – five? You made me kill your husband!”

Quiet!

Photobucket

“Fine, they were a tiny bit poisonous. And you gave them to Wesley as prescriptions.”

“On your orders.”

“Hmf, fine, yes. My orders, and then he went over to The Red like the deserving bastard he was to get with that Jones woman. A good set-up. Don’t ruin it.”

“You’re evil.”

Photobucket

“Ian, honey, Ian. I’ll pay you more.”

“You’re putting an innocent woman in jail.”

“HAH! Innocent?! That tramp slept with my husband for ten years!”

“He went along with it…”

“SHUT UP!”

Photobucket

“Ian. Think. You’ll get in trouble, too. Nobody will believe you didn’t know what you were giving Mr. Walters. I shredded the orders, they’re gone. Live with it.”

“I hate you. I hate me.”

“Quit, go somewhere else. Just forget this ever happened.”

“God, Carolyn, it did happen! You were a jealous little bitch and drugged your husband to death through me. I don’t need this, Tina didn’t need this. And sure as hell Wesley didn’t need this.”

“They had a son! Did I tell you that?! They had a damn son, Ian! I can’t have kids, he had a whole other freaking family! Don’t tell me that’s fair!”

“It’s…it’s not.”

Photobucket

“Now – now Ian, my associate, dear, what can I compensate you for helping me cleanse this poor town?”

Photobucket

It’s then that I see every emotion tangling around in Ian’s head with the way he screws up his face. The way his eyes get wet and red and absolutely terrified.

“Ten thousand.”

Photobucket

A moment of silence hangs in the air like the smell of stale perfume. Finally, Carolyn’s cracked lips open tentatively.

“You got it. No more of these breakdowns, though, kay? Promise.”

“mhm.”

Those eyes, torn apart between justice and money. Oh, Ian. How could you.

Photobucket

With this turn of events, I climb off the chair. My head’s exploding. Nobody’s going to believe my story except Calvin and Max and Tina. I don’t know how I’ll be able to get him to repeat all of that. Ten thousand. It’s a lot. And money shuts people up, that’s for sure.

I can’t go invade Room 04 now, not with all of this fresh information to use. To use – but how?

19 Responses to “Chapter Twenty-Five”

  1. kittycattylion January 29, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    Ian!!!! ;A;

  2. seaweedy January 29, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    Wow, I couldn’t read and scroll my mouse fast enough! Great chapter.

  3. friendliellama January 29, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    Oh dear pepperjack.

    Totally didn’t see this one coming!

    • Amelia January 29, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

      Then I did it right, so long as you can look back and admit that it was a possibility. ;O

  4. Terra January 29, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    Oh Ian! I’m a lot ashamed of you! But…but…I’m utterly shocked. O.O

    • Amelia January 29, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

      You can’t say being a hospital volunteer and bar bouncer would pay too well, but you’d think he’d have an ounce of decency…:{

  5. GongaGonga January 30, 2011 at 1:58 am #

    Apologies for calling Andrea Amelia, always making stupid mistakes like that.
    Great chapter! Really interesting, Ian….. Tut tut tut….. But then how is Max and Calvin? I mean, we know Calvin is okay, but max, god. Ooh you have me in the tether hooks! I know I have saidnthis before, but it is really addicting, all I want to do now is curl up with it, so this chapter thing is not great for my mental health! But if this was a book, I would buy it and order for a movie to be made of it…. Cannot wait for the next chapter!

    • Amelia January 30, 2011 at 11:32 am #

      ha, no problem it at least makes a bit of sense. ah, yes, poor Max held up with Allison doing god-knows-what. I’m sure we’ll find out soon, they may need him. oof, that’s like the greatest compliment, I’ll admit, I’d love a movie of this if the plot could be a bit deeper. ;O

  6. E January 30, 2011 at 7:22 am #

    *SHOCK HORROR!!!* I cant even find the words to…Woah. IAN!!! How could he keep quiet and let Tina go to jail for just ten thousand! I mean if it were a good million then – Wait no! He can’t DO THIS!!!
    Awesome chapter by the way.
    =)

    • Amelia January 30, 2011 at 11:30 am #

      well you must remember, if the police find out, Ian would also go to jail along with Carolyn seeing as she destroyed the evidence that it was on her orders. and even considering that, who knows if Carolyn would even go to jail? it’s a shady deal going on right now, he needs money and protection and she needs to make sure Tina is punished and she herself stays out of jail if anything should arise.
      it’s sadly a bit of an every-man-for-himself issue right now.
      and thanks!

  7. Isabella January 30, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    I hate you… I reaaaalllyyy hate you. How dare you cut it off at that?!

  8. Angel January 30, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    Yet another solid chapter, Amelia. πŸ™‚ I can’t wait for the next one. This mystery keeps getting juicier and juicier. Can’t wait to see how this all plays out. Keep going, girly! You’re doing great!

  9. amberwaves January 31, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    AHA! Finally the truth comes out and all of my suspicions are confirmed. πŸ˜‰ Spectacular photos as always. Looks like you’re nearing the end, I can’t wait to see how everything all falls into place.

    • Amelia February 8, 2011 at 7:26 am #

      AHA! πŸ˜€ someone else was a bit on to it as well, thank you, thank you! :B

  10. Thea February 1, 2011 at 3:43 am #

    No way!!!! I never would have thought. Now to prove it, oh my, but for a ten year old she’s pretty darned resourceful.

  11. Nadia February 4, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    I just read all of your story so far in one day. Haha.
    And I must say that it is an awesome story. Zomg. It’s different to other sims stories, but I think that that’s mainly because it isn’t a legacy story, and the story is intriguing, and based around a child. Usually it’s love stories or something like that. Or vampire love stories. xD

    Can’t wait for more. Do you have a normal posting ‘schedule’? Or just when you get the pictures, story and time? =]

    • Amelia February 8, 2011 at 7:25 am #

      *blushes insanely* jeepers! 8} unfortunately I have no posting schedule, I refuse to take up any more extra deadlines due to school and all, but I try to update at least every two weeks, though you never really can say.

  12. Anonymous March 8, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    Pardon me for skiing here, but what mods do you use to position your sims? You do an awesome job at it πŸ˜‰

  13. Anonymous March 8, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    *asking. Damn you autocorrect! LOL

Leave a Reply

