Chapter One

2 Jul

I rap my knuckles on the door and it makes a hollow, little sound. I have to keep reminding myself, this is Aunt Tina’s house. You’ve never seen her before, but she’s a good person. She sends you Christmas cards without signatures or photos, but she cares enough to slap on a stamp. Dad’s never talked about her, but he sent you here for the summer. He must trust her. He must trust her.

Inside the house is dark. I don’t believe she’s here.

It hardly feels like summer. There’s this heavy wind that tousles my hair around and tries to squeeze in between the knots of my sweater and I’m glad I packed my warm clothing. Aunt Tina must have forgotten you, Andrea. I’m sure she doesn’t care. You’re just an inconvenience. I shake it out of my head.

“She’s coming,” saying it out loud chases away the nasty thoughts and I take a seat on the guardrail. Looking around, everything is so foreign. Dad’s afraid of planes so I’ve never been out of Sunset Valley. I haven’t been away from the sun my entire life, yet I still seem to fit right in Twinbrook with my pale skin and dark eyes. Dad’s eyes are blue.

Now I begin to get restless and try to think up an alternate plan. I could go out downtown and beg on the streets and buy a plane ticket and fly home. But there wouldn’t be any good in that. I don’t keep friends well and I doubt anyone misses me. Except maybe Dad.

Dad’s finally picked himself up off the floor from my hinting and enrolled himself in a summer course at Sunset Valley University. Which leaves me as the extra body once more, and I got shipped off here to the unknown. I can’t leave now – I want Dad to finish his classes and get a job and –

“Oh my,” a soft, raspy voice speaks from beside me and I turn to see who I believe, who I hope to be Aunt Tina.

“Aunt Tina?” I manage to ask and she nods, still staring at me as if I were a scab. You are a scab. She forgot about you and now you’ll latch on to her and she’ll have to take care of you. And I think I’m right.

Just as she steps up beside me the sun makes its final good-night flash and disappears, leaving me with this stranger.

“You have no idea how sorry I am. Andrea,” she says, “I had to work late over at The Red Rendezvous. I bartend and I had a crowd whose tip I couldn’t miss. I guess, I mean, there’s no excuse. I’m sorry.” I nod incredulously. I should be saying sorry to her! She’s going to have to take care of me this summer and feed me and everything and she’s apologizing to me?

“It’s okay. And, um, Andy please. I go by Andy,” I say. She smiles and rests her hand on my back, leading me inside.

Aunt Tina’s house is charming. Far better than the dingy apartment I live in back in Sunset Valley.

“You sculpt?” I squeak, staring at an overwhelmingly beautiful ice statue of a lion. Tina grins and says it’s just to make a little extra here and there and would I like it if she sculpted me. And I say only if she wants to.

“Now…Andy, you do have your own room but unfortunately I haven’t cleaned it up for you since, well, since I’ve been getting older,” she says again in her scrapy, smoker’s voice. I notice a cigarette twitching around in her hand, begging to return to her lips. She has too much pride, I think, to smoke in front of you. And I feel bad.

I’m confused by her statement, but soon learn why my room has been long abandoned. A fireman’s pole stretches up through the ceiling and into the upstairs bedroom. I’ve never seen anything like it and I stroke it’s yellowing wood. Tina still seems shocked that I’m here and I turn to her. She blushes.

“You’ve just gotten so,” so big, I finish her sentence, “so much like your mother. You look just like her.”

My mouth dries up. Dad never talks about my mother. She doesn’t exist. She never has. The first and final time I asked him about it I was told she was a loose whore. I did what my teacher’s told me to do when I don’t understand a word and looked up ‘whore’ in the dictionary but that only confused me more. I let Dad be – I didn’t want to deal with that again.

I give her a quizzical look, “Aunt Tina?”

“Tina please.”

“Tina? You know what my mother looks like?”

“You don’t?” she swallows what could be a boulder and I know I’ve said something wrong. I shake my head no.

“Oh, well, I think,” she stutters again, “I think there’s a picture of her up in your room.” And she darts around the corner and retreats to her own bedroom. Andy, what have you done?

I realize how drowsy I am, grab my things, and make my way up. A picture of my mother. I’m terrified.

32 Responses to “Chapter One”

  1. Robodl95 July 2, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    Love it!!!

    • Amelia July 2, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

      Just another big thank-you! Her hair is fantastic and I owe it to you! 😀

  2. kim July 2, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    Great chapter, Andy is so cute I love her hair 🙂

    Looking forward to reading more, and I am going to link this story on my blog. 🙂

    • Amelia July 2, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

      You can thank Robodl95 for it, he converted it for me. *__* And thanks for the advertising! I appreciate it! 🙂

  3. simpixie2255 July 2, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    Really Good! Can’t wait for more!

    • Amelia July 3, 2010 at 12:31 am #

      I’ll try my best to update soon! ^.^ And thank you!

  4. raquelaroden July 2, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    Very interesting chapter…I look forward to seeing how she deals with her aunt, but I’m glad that she seems nice. 🙂

    • Amelia July 2, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

      I’m so glad you think so! Yes, I find Tina to be very nice, and she does like to keep a good reputation so when she found out Andrea hadn’t even seen a picture of mother she must have felt like she’d broken some kind of rule. Of course, Andrea blamed it on herself but she didn’t know that – Tina’s extremely careful with what she says.

      I’m excited to deliver you guys the next chapter and let you meet her some more. :]

  5. evergreen226 July 2, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

    <3'd it!!

    • Amelia July 3, 2010 at 12:32 am #

      Oh, these comments make me so happy. :] Thanks for reading!

  6. thelunarfox July 2, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

    That second shot of Tina and Andrea standing by the side of the house together just after the sun sets is beautiful.

    That hair is really cute on her. It seems to fit her. Pretty, but not super girly, kinda a little boyish. I look forward to learning more about her.

    • Amelia July 2, 2010 at 11:39 pm #

      Thank you so much! And I went through a lot to get that hair so I’m extremely glad everyone else thinks it’s as perfect as I do. And if you want to learn more about her, then I must have done something right! 😉 I’m really trying to work on my characters with this story, of course along with everything else, but I love a good heroine, especially ones still in their childhoods. Hopefully I can update soon and meet some more characters! 😀

  7. lhasa July 3, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

    Loved it! I was most impressed with how Andy’s thoughts came alive in the writing. Great stuff! I can’t wait to see what happens next.

    (By the way, Andy is cute as a button. That hair is adorable on her!)

    • Amelia July 3, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

      Yee, thank you so much. I seem to have a very easy time being Andy, despite the fact that I’m nothing like her. Already she’s very close to me. :] And I’m going to try to get another chapter out today or tomorrow. There’s so much I want to show you guys! P:

  8. umikagami July 3, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    Andy is such a sweetie, I just want to hug her and tell her everything is going to be okay.

    • Amelia July 3, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

      But is it?

      And I get that same feeling but I can’t do anything to interfere with her fate, can I? 😉 😉 😉

  9. meowbark July 3, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    Great start to your legacy. I like how you portray Aunt Tina. She seems to have a good heart but very weathered. She’d better take care of Andy. That girl is adorable.

    • Amelia July 3, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

      Just a clarification: this isn’t a legacy, it’s a sims 3 story. I have a pre-thought out plot.

      And thank you so much, she’s definitely weathered. In fact, next chapter we shall explore that. 😀

  10. capturedmuse July 4, 2010 at 2:42 am #

    I like it! Linked you on my blog roll 😀

    • Amelia July 4, 2010 at 11:36 am #

      Yeee, thank you! 😀

  11. seaweedy July 4, 2010 at 8:09 am #

    Her dad doesn’t sound like a very nice person. I hope Aunt Tina treats her better.

    • Amelia July 4, 2010 at 11:38 am #

      Well, her dad is David from the prologue and I think it’s not that he’s mean, it’s that he treats Andy like a mature adult. He’s also slightly depressed, being a single father at around twenty…

  12. moondaisy101 July 7, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

    Very impressive start which prompts the wish to read more. I like both Andrea and Tina at once. Lovely pictures! 🙂

    • Amelia July 7, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

      Well that’s good news then! 8) I hope you’ll continue reading, and thank you!

  13. Jennifer July 14, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    I really enjoyed it. How did you get Tina to have a ciggy? How do I link you to my blog, I juse Livejournal. I have a sims story that I have started if you are intrested?

    • Amelia July 14, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

      I’m not sure how Livejournal works unfortunately. You can find the hand cigarette on mysims3blog.blogspot.com, also. :] Please link your story here sometime, I’d love to check it out! And thank you.

      • Jennifer July 15, 2010 at 7:53 am #

        I sure will, but i have to get my home computer up and running again and then I will link it.. Thanks… I will check out your blogspot 🙂

  14. Tota July 28, 2010 at 11:37 pm #

    You invoke such real emotions with your writing. Andy is a great character, very real and believable. I’m loving reading your story.

  15. FortA August 3, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    Ooh. Intriguing. I’m loving this story. Though I feel bad for Andrea – it’s like she thinks she’s an inconvenience to everyone. She keeps referring to herself as a scab, saying she should be the one apologize – little girls shouldn’t have to worry about such things!

    Ha, on a lighter note: “The first and final time I asked him about it I was told she was a loose whore. I did what my teacher’s told me to do when I don’t understand a word and looked up ‘whore’ in the dictionary but that only confused me more.” Perhaps my favorite line (or is it lines?) Ha. Quite funny.

    Awesome job,

    FortA

  16. dreamerchanson September 24, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

    Still loving it. And the Andy is just adorable! 🙂

    p.s: please check out my blog!! I would love to have your input on it!
    http://www.evanishlegacy.wordpress.com

  17. clairezy018 December 1, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    This just wow! I can’t believe I didn’t start reading this sooner. I love Andy she’s beautiful.

    • Amelia December 1, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

      C: *hugs Andy* she really gets to ya, huh? ❤ really appreciate the sweet comment, I've seen you around in a couple blogs so it makes me proud to know you've found mine! :]

Leave a comment