Chapter Four

16 Jul

Calvin’s right – the Laundromat is directly beside the path. I want to run back and thank him but I don’t think I can face Ms. Maroney again. Maybe I’ll catch him on the way home. If he’ll even talk to you after all that.

The Laundromat is deserted except for an older man and a kid about my age that are both staring through the window, as if expecting me.


“Andrea, is that you? You’ve grown into such a beautiful girl,” the older man says right when I open the door. My cheeks burn and I whisper a soft thank you. The boy on the right is eyeing me and I wish I wasn’t dressed so nicely compared to his casual clothes. He doesn’t look too happy where he is and it only makes me more uncomfortable.

“Uh, Tina wanted to give you this book,” I’m almost trembling and look back at the boy out of the corner of my eye. He has a striking resemblance to the older man.

“Yes, Tina did,” the man grins, “my…my wife wants to read that.” His voice is smooth, especially after hearing Tina’s, and I instantly like him.

“Oh, let me introduce myself. I’m Wesley Walters and this,” he gestures to the boy, “is Max. My son.” Wesley!

The boy shuffles his feet around and I think I hear him say ‘hi.’

“We’re good friends of Tina. I’ve known her since she worked here for me, which I believe was around the time you were born, actually. I was just thinking that maybe Max could show you around town, since you’re here all summer. There’s this fantastic restaurant by The Red, where Tina works, that has the greatest food and it is nearly lunchtime.”

Flinging himself off the washer, Max gives me his best ‘I-was-put-up-to-this’ look. I pinch my lips together and follow him out the door. When I look back at Wesley again, I wonder how anyone, specifically Tina, could get so mad at a guy like that. He’s so friendly, so charming.

Max doesn’t talk to me for twenty minutes. I just trail behind him like the caboose of a train, with no idea where I’m going but with no choice but to go. The silence gets so painful that I want to go back to the Laundromat and talk with Wesley. He’s the only one in this town that likes you. Don’t know why, but still.

Max eventually sits down at a table and stares at me until I take a seat.

“I’m going in to order. Whatdoyouwant?” he says.

“Um, what’s good?” I squeak, adding a quick cough to blame it on a sore throat. He gives me a dramatic sigh and says he’ll just pick for me. I have no objections.

The food is some of the best I’ve ever had but I can’t help but notice Max picking at his chicken and mouthing words to himself. When he catches me looking at him he stops and my cheeks flare up again. I quickly take another bite of salad.

“Look. Andrea. I’m not in a good mood today so can you just eat a little faster so I can go?” his eyebrows burrow together, “It’s not that I don’t like you. I’m just here under some bad circumstances.”

“Oh, um, sorry –”

“It’s not that I don’t like you. ”

“Sorry.”

“Stop saying that! Don’t apologize to me. I’m the asshole!”

I can hear my heart pounding through my chest and I cough again, “Okay. Where do you want to go then? We don’t have to talk. I just don’t have anywhere else to go. Tina’s busy and I don’t want to bother her.”

“Tina’s always busy. Wesley’s always busy. Too busy for any of us doesn’t really mean busy,” he snaps.

“Where do you want to go?” I try again.

“I want to go to the beach and rest. I didn’t sleep last night,” he says calmly. I nod.

“Lead the way.”

The beach in Sunset Valley is always carpeted with blankets and hoards of people trying to get a tan or catch a wave.

Twinbrook’s is absolutely bare. Except for Max, who’s already taken a seat on an old log. I stand on the cold sand and scan the area. I see the hospital, a big ugly building in the distance. Across the river there’s this gorgeous house on stilts. I’m immediately fixated on it.

“You don’t want to go there,” I hear Max murmur under his breath. I ask him why not and he says, “It’s the Grouchy Old Man’s house. You know. Every town has one.”

We sit and look at the house for a while and I think I see someone looking out from the window but I brush it away as my imagination.

“Hey, Andrea?” Max says.

“You can call me Andy.”

“Yeah, sure. How old are you?”

“Ten. Eleven in August.”

“I thought so. Me, too.”

33 Responses to “Chapter Four”

  1. kittycattylion July 16, 2010 at 2:36 am #

    Max is adorable *_*
    I can see him and Andy being good friends, seeing how he also seems to be very premature. funny thing is, they’re both pretty immature too.. that’s what you call great characters.

    • Amelia July 16, 2010 at 11:19 am #

      *hugs Max* Funny thing is him and Wesley are my SAP model aged up and down with a few minor tweaks. And Andy and Max are both rather mature, while still being somewhat ignorant children, I’m so glad you like that about them. :] Thanks for commenting!

  2. Jennifer July 16, 2010 at 6:58 am #

    Loved it and can’t wait to see what happens next.

  3. isjessy July 16, 2010 at 11:55 am #

    I’m loving the story, very original (I think). But I have one question… I was looking at the Prolog and I noticed that the baby that she was holding had a blue blanket, and later on say “neice”. I’m just wondering if maybe you changed her blanket color (because I found you can do it if you have a mod from Twallan downloaded), or if maybe it was a blooper, maybe an EA made mistake? Becuase I know that it’s done it before. I personally have only experenced it saying a townie had a girl so I gave it a girl name then turns out it’s a boy; but I’ve heard of it coming up saying it was born one gender then magically changing to the opposite gender after birth. I’m not at all trying to be mean or call you out or anything, I just find that peculiar :-]
    It’s an awesome story though, I can’t wait for Chapter 5 😀

    • Amelia July 16, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

      Thanks everyone!

      And ah yes, the blanket issue. I was expecting someone to ask that but they never did. Pretty much I got Cadence preggo and fed her three watermelons, which didn’t turn out to be enough so she had a boy. I figured girls could be wrapped up in blue blankets just as well as boys and I was so in love with the picture at the hospital that I just went along with it. It was a fair question, I don’t feel called out. :] Hopefully I can get Chapter Five out in a few days.

  4. seaweedy July 16, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    You capture great expressions on their faces. I feel so bad for Andy, people seem to give her such a hard time.

    • Amelia July 16, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

      They really do, and her imagination blows up what they do or say to an even worse degree. And thanks, the shots for this chapter took forever. >.< But I'm so glad with how they turned out!

  5. WoWLynnia July 16, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    Great chapter, as always. 😀 I have some guesses in my head as to how this’ll turn out, but I can’t wait to see what actually happens! You’ve got a great story going here; keep it up!

    • Amelia July 16, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

      This chapter was definitely meant to spark some thoughts and ideas, glad it did for you! ;D And thank you so much.

  6. kim July 16, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    Great chapter, Max is such a cutie. My son is called Max lol. 🙂

    Looking forward to chapter 5, hopefully Max and Andy will be great friends 🙂

    • Amelia July 16, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

      Max had many many names before I settled on his, actually. But he’s a good Max. :] And hopefully… 😀

  7. simpixie2255 July 16, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    I am loving the story. Just got all caught up!

  8. moondaisy101 July 16, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    Oooh! Picture nine in this post is forever locked in my heart, I love Max’ glare!!! And for Andy to meet a second ‘possible’ little friend on the same day.
    She deals with Max’ relucance to lunch with her extremely well and I think that’s why he now thinks that is Andy is kind of cool. He is so totally different from Calvin.
    Aw! And this perception : “Tina’s always busy. Wesley’s always busy. Too busy for any of us doesn’t really mean busy.” Very clever and intriguing!
    Wonderful chapter. 🙂

  9. Amelia July 16, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    Max and Calvin are certainly opposites, makes you wonder if they know each other or how they get along. And his glare made me smile when I got that shot, picture four happens to be my favorite of the chapter. :] You picked a good quote to quote (lol) I wonder what you got from it. ;D Much thanks!

    And thanks everyone!

  10. umikagami July 16, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    Ah the mysterious Wesley, it’s nice to finally meet him! I wonder if there’s something more to his and Tina’s relationship, he seemed a bit hesitant when he mentioned his wife.

    • Amelia July 16, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

      Perhaps, we’ll see where the characters take me… I mustn’t reveal anything! >.> <.< Very good eyes, though.

      • umikagami July 16, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

        LOL I wouldn’t expect you to! I was just thinking out loud. 😛

  11. gauchegladys July 17, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    This is so fantastic, I’m happy to have found it. Into the reader it goes. I can’t wait to see more!

  12. Ferlinda July 18, 2010 at 3:44 am #

    It’s a really unique story you have there. I have just finished all the chapters that have been put up for the readers to enjoy, and the Prologue was very interesting and compelling. The ending was jarring, and in a good way, as well.

    I really like the characters for the amount of depth and seriousness you put into them, as though they are like real-life people. The pictures are amazing, too – the setting of Laundromat was creative and a lovely change of environment.

    I’ll be looking out and following this story whenever I have the time, keep posting! It’s been a real delight to read the chapters you have up so far, and I’m looking forward to reading more (:

    • Amelia July 18, 2010 at 10:00 am #

      It’s so nice to hear that you’re enjoying what I have. This story was really meant for me to work on my characters, and I’m so glad that they’re turning out how I planned to me and to everyone else. Chapter Five should be arriving soon. :]

  13. raquelaroden July 18, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Max is adorable–such a funny little grouch. I love the pictures with him sitting on top of the washer (or dyer?). I really need to download the invisible furniture…

    I love the description of Andy feeling like a caboose to Max’s train–perfect! I can’t wait to see where this story goes next. 🙂

    • Amelia July 18, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

      Getting him to sit on the washer was rather tough, I must say. I put the invisible stool on top of one of the invisible tower things and get Max on the stool in a particular order. >.< And thank you so much commenting, so glad you like it. I hope to have a smaller-ish chapter out later today!

  14. Rad July 19, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

    I bet Max grows up to be a right little heartbreaker! You were right about Twinbrook’s beach, but then it’s just not as nice as the SV one.

    Andy’s collecting a gaggle of boys. She’s becoming a junior Edith Prescott!

    • Amelia July 19, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

      Oh, I can totally see that coming! xD I do really love the Twinbrook beach, the view is lovely, it seems more peaceful than Sunset Valley’s. And Andy does seem to be collecting some guyfriends, though the results may be rather different considering their age…and the circumstances. ;D

    • raquelaroden July 29, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

      lol! Ed does seem to collect them, doesn’t she…

  15. hushfirefly July 26, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    “Yeah, sure. How old are you?”

    “Ten. Eleven in August.”

    “I thought so. Me, too.”

    -Is this a clue >.<

    • Amelia July 27, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

      Maybe. :] Or not.

  16. Tota July 28, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

    You have some great characters here. I love the dynamics between Andy and the other kids. I’m intrigued by the story and I like that you have several threads going on here.

  17. FortA August 3, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    Still reading 🙂 I can’t stop, it would seem.

  18. Morbid_Mew August 26, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    Awww, I really like Max. ♥

  19. The Calloway Legacy November 26, 2010 at 7:35 am #

    I love this story, you are a fantastic writer!
    I love all the shots you get, like Max sitting on the washer and all that.

    **off to read more**

  20. Malin January 7, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    After reading this chapter I long for the summer. I’d just like to wander around a new place taking in the view.

    *Sigh of longing*

    • Amelia January 8, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

      I’m with ya. Started it in the summer and now I long to get back. x]

Leave a comment