Chapter Five

18 Jul

A couple hours go by and nobody tells me. I lay on the log beside Max and close my eyes. By the time they open again, it’s dark and Max is gone. Figures he’d leave me, but I don’t blame him – I can’t stand to wake people up either. I always end up imagining them having a fantastic dream, about to do something incredible and I can’t bear to take the chance and ruin it.

But I hadn’t dreamt.


Upright, I have no idea where to go. There’s some shady looking people hanging around only a few yards back and I consider having a panic attack. Then I see a little glint in the sand and run over on instinct. You’re a little scavenger, a little crow, Andy. Feeding off others, looking for shiny things. I ignore the voice.

There’s some money stuck in the sand by the log. I think Max left it.

I find a bus stop on the corner and pray it comes soon. A few minutes later, headlights come into view – thank God. Switching from the freezing bus stop bench to the bus is almost magical.

I’m alone on the bus, stroking the warm, leathery seat.

“Where’re you headed? The other stops are empty,” I hear a gruff voice from the driver’s seat. I’m not sure what to say.

“I need to go to the house on the hill. It’s by the sticks, I think.”

“Right,” he says, and I breath a sigh of relief.

“Do you know what time it is?” I finally ask.

“Ten.” Oh no.

He drops me off right at the foot of the hill and I give him whatever bit of change I had found on the beach. Whether it was too much or too little, he accepts it and I tell him thank-you. The lights aren’t on in the house and the laundry has been taken down. You’re in big trouble.

But I’m not. There’s a little note by the step with a key on top of it. I pocket the key and read: Andy- Got to work late tonight. So sorry. –Tina

I’m ecstatic. Unlocking the door, I slip inside to get ready for bed.

In the open area I find that Tina’s small talk of sculpting me wasn’t small talk – there’s a life-size me. I’m not sure if I’m that pretty.

21 Responses to “Chapter Five”

  1. isjessy July 18, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    Awesome chapter! I could understand why she would want to have a panic attack after waking up all alone and seeing two guys standing within feet of her. lol. I would react the same way.

    • Amelia July 18, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

      Glad you liked it! And oh certainly, lost in a new town with just some creepy men and you. I’d die – luckily Andy’s smart enough to look for a bus stop. :]

  2. kittycattylion July 19, 2010 at 1:19 am #

    little children left unsupervised D: worst nightmarrrrre!
    I love the sculpture of her.. see, Andy? maybe aunt Tina does care!

    • Amelia July 19, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

      Maybe she does care! And maybe Andy’s starting to realize it. :]

  3. Lolaland July 19, 2010 at 2:01 am #

    Cuuute ❤

  4. raquelaroden July 19, 2010 at 6:48 am #

    What an interesting thing to come home to–an ice sculpture of yourself, lol. 🙂

    That was kinda sweet of Max to leave her some money–he did leave it on purpose, right?

    • Amelia July 19, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

      I would think so, he seems to have the same habit that Andy does of not being able to wake people but he did help her out nonetheless. And you should’ve seen Andy posing for the sculpture – cutest thing ever! :]

  5. seaweedy July 19, 2010 at 7:23 am #

    Seeing the sculpture must make her feel more welcome and I’m glad for that.

    • Amelia July 19, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

      Thanks everyone for commenting!

      And so am I, it must have made her feel more a part of the family. She was after all, born there.

  6. moondaisy101 July 19, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    I agree with everyone else! It is a lovely chapter.
    I particularly like the way Tina sculpted her. The whole pose so expresses Andy’s personality. 🙂

    • Amelia July 19, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

      Thank you! And when I had her sculpt Andy I was so surprised and so happy with the great pose that she did. :] So perfect.

  7. Rad July 19, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    Aww, Tina does have a heart. I loved the bus shots, very effective.

    • Amelia July 19, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

      Yes, Tina is kind, but she is a single person working a not-so-well-paying job – it’s hard for her to show her affection. And thanks, the buyable bus I got from MTS. Taking the shots was sort of a battle to get home before curfew. x]

  8. umikagami July 19, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    LOL that ice sculpture is adorable! XD

  9. Ferlinda July 20, 2010 at 2:50 am #

    Interesting chapter.

    Maybe I’m not really good with subtext, because I didn’t realise that Max left the coin for her until I read the other comments. But I really like how you pull off his attitude – of being more caring than he seems, in his own small little subtle ways. It’s enjoyable.

    The ice sculpture is very pretty, it’s amazing. (: Andy seems to have some serious self-confidence issues. It’s great that you show, not tell. There’s a time and place for everything, but here, that method works exceedingly well, and readers can clearly infer that Andy does have her own problems to face.

    • Amelia July 20, 2010 at 11:56 am #

      Wow, thank you so much for all these kind comments – I’m glad you like what I do. :] And Andy really does have some problems, deep-rooted too, so we can only hope someone can help her overcome them. Such flattering words, I really appreciate them. 🙂

  10. Simlia August 8, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    This is such an awesome story!

    • Amelia August 8, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

      😀 I really really appreciate it!

  11. DB loves her Mac August 11, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    Tina couldn’t have crafted that ice sculpture of Andy without spending a significant amount of time thinking about her niece. I hope that sinks into Andy’s consciousness in a positive way.

    Great shot of them sitting on the log on the beach!

    • Amelia August 11, 2010 at 11:44 am #

      Yepyep! 😀 And thanks.

  12. The Calloway Legacy November 26, 2010 at 7:38 am #

    The ice sculpture is so cute and a nice touch. I hope it makes Andy feel better and more welcome in this new world.

Leave a comment